-30-

New semester, new Writer’s Block

In Design, IDS, Photography on January 7, 2013 at 4:48 pm

Well it’s been quite a while since this blog has been updated, so I figure it’s about time to re-up. What a better time than a new semester and a new year, am I right?

And as students return to campus, the IDS starts off with a fine edition with a few solid hidden gems.

Like this front-page story about local artist Joel Washington…

JEFF LAFAVE (IDS)

Joel Washington’s skateboarder name used to be “Rad Rat.”

On Friday, the 52-year-old Bloomington skateboarder-turned-artist used his colorful pop art to teach children about color theory at the WonderLab Museum of Health, Science and Technology.

Joining him were portraits of Michael Jackson, B.B. King and four of his own brightly designed skateboard decks.

“I’m a color fanatic,” he said. “There’s little colors I have to put in.”

Also this wonderful quote from a creative youngster at WonderLab.

Rosie Black, a 4-year-old preschooler from Bloomington, was experimenting with popsicle sticks.

“I have a shed, and it’s snowing cats,” she said of her abstract design.

Also some great ASF work by Lacey Hoopengardner and Anu Kumar on the region page…

Reggie

…and Will Royal on the opinion page.

WRoyal

That text reads…

WILL ROYAL (IDS)

After seeing several prospective sorority members trek through the snow, I began to wonder what their motivation was. I could not see myself walking from house to house in formal attire. Their dedication is truly admirable.

I asked myself, what would motivate me to rush? While sisterhood is not something I dream of, I do have desires that could encourage me to bear the cold.

Clever stuff. In the back section, some really solid design by Chelsea Coleman and photography by photo editors Amelia Chong and Clayton Moore on the arts pages.

ArtsPDF-1

Overall, a great start. Can’t wait to see what else these folks pull off this semester.

-CS

Leave a Reply

