-30-

Feature Story of the Year

In Awards, IDS on November 1, 2010 at 8:00 am

At the National College Media Convention in Louisville, Ky. last week, Kelly Cochran’s article “A story that’s far too common” won best feature story of the year. The story filled an entire front page last spring.

KELLY COCHRAN (IDS)

By now it was a little after 2 a.m. As I continued throwing up, I began to fade in and out of consciousness. I felt as if I was caught in the undertow of a wave, trapped and unable to breathe. My thoughts became incoherent. I began to hear voices and see things. Though I am not a religious person, for some reason I could not stop thinking about God. As I leaned over the toilet, I looked into the water and imagined the dark shadow of a face looking back at me. I was certain it was Jesus.

My spurts of rational thinking became so few and far between that I was no longer sure where I was or what I was doing. Nothing looked familiar. My vision was severely blurred. Waves of confusion ran through me like static on a television screen.

As I felt myself blacking out again, I sobbed. I felt like a failure. Here you are, I told myself, dying alone on the floor of your shitty bathroom at the age of 21, never having accomplished anything you want with your life.

I moaned for my roommate. “Liz … Liz … Liz …”

When she appeared in the doorway, I was so confused that at first I did not recognize her.

“What’s wrong?” she asked.

In my mind, I was screaming for her to call 911. But all I could say, over and over again, was “I am not OK.”

Sean Morrison’s story about a high jumper also won best sport’s story of the year. I posted his story last week when I talked about Keating, but you can read it here.

IU Student Media picked up some non-writing awards, too! Check back for the full list.

Leave a Reply

